Travel rules to be changed

From Friday, February 5, Czechia will introduce new travel restrictions – mainly due to the spread of more contagious coronavirus mutations.


There will be a new category of very high-risk countries, which will include Slovakia, the UK, Ireland, Spain, Portugal, Slovenia and the Baltic states. On the Ministry of Foreign Affairs map, these countries are marked in deep red.

People travelling from these areas to the Czech Republic will have to present a negative PCR test upon arrival and then quarantine themselves. After five days, they will be able to undergo a second test that will terminate the quarantine if negative. For ten days after arrival, they will also have to wear a respirator of at least FFP2 class.

Those travelling from the states marked in red – such as Germany, Poland or Austria – will need a negative pre-trip test (antigen or PCR) and a second PCR test five days after arrival. Orange means an obligatory antigen or PCR test before arriving to the Czech Republic.

Of all the European countries, only Vatican is marked in green – meaning no restrictions on arrivals to Czechia. Australia, South Korea, New Zealand, Singapore and Thailand are also on this list.


This article was written by, for more Czech news in English visit their website.